|
|
|
Forum Newbie
      
Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 02 December 2010
Posts: 1,
Visits: 2
|
|
| Just a quick note to say watch out for scammers I have been contacted by 'markallen204@rediffmail.com' through three advert sites about my pony for sale (you would think he may realise that its the same guy and message all the time!) This person is a scammer. This is the same email he has sent each time 'Am so much interested in buying the horse. I would want you to get back to me with the asking price,condition and the reason why you want to sell the horse and also get to me with at list two pic. Concerning the payment, i would be paying you with a Banker's Draft and also i will wait until the Banker's Draft clears before i can have it with me, so i hope you understand me? so i await to hear from you soon. Thanks a lot and speak soon. Kind Regards.' There is a list of know scammer on the New Forest Equine Directory and I would urge you to check it if you are not sure. I've put a link to the page below www.nfed.co.uk/scam.htm#offenders Hope this helps people!
|
|
|
|
|
Official Forum Dragon
      
Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 08:52
Posts: 304,
Visits: 1,145
|
|
| Well spotted. This is indeed a scammer and the Bank Draft he would send you is a fake and would be for more than you were asking for the pony. He would then ask you to send the excess back by Western Union or Moneygram (both untraceable) and then dissapear. You would then be hit when the bank draft bounces and could even be in trouble with the bank for passing a fake cheque. I'll put his email up for some "special attention" from myself and my fellow baiters as I have two unicorns and a hippogriff for sale. 
|
|
|
|
|
Supreme Buddy
Group: Administrators
Last Login: Yesterday @ 21:23
Posts: 4,232,
Visits: 6,643
|
|
"special attention" ***Rubs hands together*** Thanks to emms799 for bringing this to our attention 
|
|
|
|
|
Forum Newbie
      
Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 13 December 2010
Posts: 1,
Visits: 3
|
|
| Hi mandy here, I have also had an email from this person, on 28th november, just want to warn others not to be taken in by him, how do these people keep getting away with doing this? can they not be traced and stopped.
|
|
|
|
|
Supreme Buddy
Group: Administrators
Last Login: Yesterday @ 21:23
Posts: 4,232,
Visits: 6,643
|
|
| They're mostly in Nigeria, working in Internet Cafes so untracable really. They go through every site like this, hoping to attract someone and get money any way they can. LD "baits" them to waste their time and we try to educate people so they'll be on their guard whatever site they use. It's an International problem sadly
|
|
|
|